Home ] Up ]

Curaçao is an island in the southern Caribbean Sea, off the Venezuelan coast. The Country of Curaçao, which includes the main island plus the small, uninhabited island of Klein Curaçao ("Little Curaçao"), is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Its capital is Willemstad. Curaçao is the largest and most populous of the three ABC islands (for Aruba, Bonaire, and Curaçao) of the Lesser Antilles, specifically the Leeward Antilles. It has a land area of 171 square miles. As of 1 January 2009, it had a population of 141,766.

Click a thumbnail image to see the larger one.  Then click your browser back arrow (◄-- ) to return to this page.

Island Map

Arrival at Willemstad

Lively Activity on the Pier

Curacao Coast

Willemstad Pier

Bottled Curacao

Across the Juliana Bridge

Restored Slave Quarters

Divi-Divi Tree and Slave Quarters

Wind Power

And Solar Panels

Savonet Plantation - Curacao's Oldest

Curacao Architecture

Who comes out the little door?

Museum Life Stages Exhibit

Depicting Birth, Marriage & Death Customs

Whale Skeleton Outside Museum

Landscape around the Museum

Local Flora

Local male Iguana

With a few words for the audience

Another Lizard

Christoffel National Park

Park Coastal Area

Algaed Rocks

And very sharp ones

Impressive Wave Action

Toward the Shore

On the Windy Coast

Salt Flats with Flamingos

Giant Fist Statue by Yubi

Amsterdam Pirate Defense

Cannons at Willemstad

Pontoon  Bridge into Punda

Old Merchant Houses

Waterfront Houses and Shops

Queen Juliana Bridge

Breedstreet Shopping

Part of Floating Market

Downtown Willemstad

View Across Bay of Anna